27 (Twenty- Seven): Six Friends, One Year- R.J. Heald

Disclaimer: I was given this book free of charge in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Your 27th year is a turning point.
Kurt Cobain. Amy Winehouse. Janis Joplin.
They died at 27.

Six friends reunite in London. From the outside their lives are enviable; from the new father, to the rich entrepreneur to the carefree traveller. But underneath their facades they are starting to unravel. Dave is made redundant, Renee’s marriage is crumbling and Katie is forced to return home to her parents after six years abroad. In a world fuelled by social media and ravaged by recession, the friends must face up to the choices they must make to lead the lives they truly want to live.

Review.

There was something very One Day about 27. A sort of everyday so far has come to this inevitability. Kind of the same predictability too, but because there were lots of different stories I didn’t mind that so much. Or maybe just because I had expected less from 27- One Day was so popular I expected to really like it. I did think I would like 27 but I wasn’t eager for it in the same way.

I knew 27 would be an easy read, and I wasn’t really expecting something…substantial…, it’s part of the reason I picked it in fact because I’ve been having a bit of trouble getting into books recently and I wanted something that would be easy.

Actually I enjoyed it more than I had anticipated. I think actually I am just about at the right stage in my life to read it, I identified quite well with some of the characters, and I think a lot of people my age would. It’s true that there are a lot of weddings and babies on my facebook feed now. You can’t helping thinking that everyone else is getting on with their lives while you’re living with your parents in a job you could have got without going to uni. Of course I have lots of friends in the same position but facebook doesn’t really show that does it?

I suppose that’s what I liked about 27 really. It was a kind of comparison of facebook life and real life, I man you don’t put your bad moments on facebook really, not in the same way anyway. Sam’s story I found particularly good at showing this.

4/5

Other Reviews:

There are no other reviews of 27 on my blog list. Let me know if you have written one and I will add it here.

Buy it:

Kindle (£2.99)

2 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review

2 responses to “27 (Twenty- Seven): Six Friends, One Year- R.J. Heald

  1. Thanks for your review, Lucy 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it. I loved One Day so I find the comparison quite complementary!

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Indie | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

