Children’s Hour: Meg’s Eggs

Children’s Hour is a new feature here at Lucybird’s Book Blog every Thursday where I’m looking at children’s picture books. As I work in a nursery I get plenty of opportunities to look at picture books, and to see what the kids think of them so it really makes sense to use those experiences.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

Image from Amazon

My sister send me a text over weekend saying that her family (my niece, is 3, my nephew is almost 4 months) were really enjoying reading Kipper that week, and also Meg’s Eggs, and could she nominate them for Children’s Hour? Well how can I say no to featuring a book my niece loves? Especially as I insist on buying her books at any given opportunity. I remember vaguely Kipper from my childhood but I think I always preferred Meg and Mog anyway- and I have read Meg’s Eggs to the kids at work, so it’s fresher in my mind. Meg’s Eggs is one in a series of books about a witch (Meg) and her cat (Mog). In this particular book Meg decides to use a spell to cook some eggs, but something goes wrong and the eggs start to hatch letting out dinosaurs. I love the pictures in the Meg and Mog books, very simple, but bright and noticeable. The book is funny as one, then two, then three dinosaurs appear…what is Meg going to do about it? Meg’s spells are great too, and the typography of the story follows the pictures so they are almost a part of the illustrations. Although the speech bubbles do make it a little difficult to be sure what order to read the words in. I should really read this to the kids in toddlers- they love dinosaurs.

Buy Meg’s Eggs:

Paperback (£4.79)

5 Comments

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

5 responses to “Children’s Hour: Meg’s Eggs

  1. Toots

    I love Meg and Mog books. Meg’s a pretty inept witch, so there’s humour on every page. There are clever little references to entertain the reading adult as well, like the pastiche of the famous Japanese sea picture (sorry, can’t remember the artist) in ‘Meg at Sea’.

    The other thing with them is that they are good ‘real’ books for beginner readers. I say,’real’ because they are written primarily to be entertaining stories, unlike ‘reading’ books, which may have good stories sometimes but which are primarily designed as reading primers. The Meg and Mog books have simple phrases and lots of easily decoded words for the beginner reader (eg ‘Meg’ ‘Egg’). They use rhyme very cleverly. The typeface is also very child- friendly.

    Three cheers for Helen Nicholl and Jan Pienkowski!

  2. sisterbird

    Hey Lucybird. Gosh, your niece is wearing me out with this book now! Not sure what will happen when we have to return it to the library… But keep noticing new bits – only realised yesterday that Meg’s final spell uses eggs as an ingredient. So, if she already had eggs in the cupboard why did she have to make magic ones for tea in the first place?

    The copy we have also includes Mog in the Fog (in which Meg and Mog climb Mount Everest guided by a sherpa who speaks broken English and they have an unfortunate meeting with a yeti) and Meg at Sea.

  3. I was just talking aboiut Meg and Mog yesterday at work. I loved them and they seem to have survived several generations.

  4. It’s true, my sisters and I loved them and now my niece does.

  5. Pingback: Children’s Hour Blogiversary Giveaway | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

