The Great Gatsby- F. Scott Fitzgerald

Image from Amazon


This book was read as part of The Rory List

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Jay Gatsby is a self-made man famed for his decadent, champagne-drenched parties. Despite being surrounded by Long Island’s bright and beautiful, he longs only for Daisy Buchanan. In shimmering prose, Fitzgerald shows Gatsby pursue his dream to its tragic conclusion.

Review

So what can I say? Is The Great Gatsby great? (God how clichéd, I wonder how many times that has been written?) Well to be honest not really. I know lots of people love it but I must admit most of the time I was just waiting for something to happen. Then when finally things seemed to be starting to happen it ended. Actually the tone reminded me of Catcher in the Rye (which I wasn’t that impressed by either).

Having said that it was an easy read for a ‘classic’. And quite short.

I like the look of the film too. I can see Baz Lurhmann doing the extravagance well (after all he did make Moulin Rogue)

3.5/5

Buy it:

Kindle (£0.49)

Paperback (£1.60)

Hardback (£7.69)

Other Reviews

As the Crowe Flies (and Reads!)

Have I missed your review? Link me up!

7 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Classics, Fiction review, Literary

7 responses to “The Great Gatsby- F. Scott Fitzgerald

  1. Some books just have to be read because. I think its popularity is as much to do with the lifestyle of the Fitzgeralds and who their contemporaries were. I have it on my kindle for a rainy day, there aren’t too many of those where I live 🙂

  2. Yes I think it is one of those. I have a friend who loves it because of the decadence. That’s why I can see it making a good film- especially with Lurhmann in charge

  3. Sara Katherine

    It’s more of just a slice of life and petty drama novel. I love it because of Nick’s commentary on that life as “an outsider” and how we are at the same time able to watch him get sucked into it.
    This is one of my favorite quotes from the book that I think can sum up the entire thing: “Every one suspects himself of at least one of the cardinal virtues, and this is mine: I am one of the few honest people that I have ever known.” – Nick.
    But, as we the reader see him, that would be not so much true, right? Love reading your blog!

  4. Pingback: The Great Gatsby Audio Book | All On Audio Books

  5. Pingback: Review of the Year 2012- Challenges | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Film of the book: The Great Gatsby | Lucybird's Book Blog

  7. Pingback: First lines- a game | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

