Mockingjay- Suzanne Collins

Image from Amazon

Mockingjay is the third book in The Hunger Games trilogy. Read The Hunger Games and Catching Fire first.

Synopsis (from Amazon)

The final book in the ground-breaking HUNGER GAMES trilogy. Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’ worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12
Review
Note: I’m about 99% sure that I can’t write this review spoiler free, so I’m not going to try. I will however block out spoilers in my usual fashion. However I won’t be blanking out spoilers from the previous 2 books.
I’m sad to see this story end.  I must admit I would have been perfectly happy with just the first book and I’m still not 100% sure it had to be a series, however I enjoyed the second book much more than I had anticipated and was eager to read this one.
It’s much more of a war type novel than the previous two, I guess though the other two books contain some sense of rebellion they weren’t as geared towards rebellion as this one was- and that was something I expected after how Catching Fire ended.  In some ways it made me like it less. It felt so much more, I don’t know, planned, I guess. In The Hunger Games Katniss was just going with the flow really, following her heart if you want. In this she seemed less in control in a way, more manipulated. I didn’t really like how there was something a bit wrong about how she thought she was being independent. I guess by he end she did though and it shocked me. [highlight for spoiler] I never ever expected for her to shoot Coin, but I understood it. Really the only thing good about Coin is that she wasn’t Snow. She seemed to be just as power hungry. She was willing to sacrifice Katniss so she would win power. She even wanted to do what Snow did, use the Hunger Games to show how powerful she was. Maybe only once but if anyone in the capital is innocent surely it’s the kids? I was surprised Katniss voted for it though, I mean she knew what it does to people, she’d let more people go through that?
4.5/5
Buy it:
Paperback (£3.86)
Kindle (£3.47)
Other Reviews:
Have I missed your review? Link me up!
2 Comments

Filed under Dystopian, Fiction review, YA

2 responses to “Mockingjay- Suzanne Collins

  1. Pingback: Recommended Book: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins « Pete Denton – Writer

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Book Covers | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

