Film of the Book: The Hunger Games

Read the book reviews:

The Hunger Games (book 1)

Catching Fire (book 2)

As far as films of books go I was pretty impressed with this one. Pretty good as a film in its own right but also good in comparison to the book. Of course they cut some things, and they changed a few bits, but how long would the film be otherwise? I think they made pretty good decisions with what to cut, although I would have liked a bit more back story when it came to Katniss and Peeta’s relationship. There was one change I didn’t like and that was who gave Katniss the Mockingjay pin. I guess I can see why they wanted to change it, it made things simpler but it does mean it will be difficult (though not impossible) to link it to the original owner of the pin, which is a nice, if not essential element of the book.

Go see it whether you have read the book or not, it’s a good, fun film.

4 Comments

Filed under Film review

4 responses to “Film of the Book: The Hunger Games

  1. You know what’s funny ? I read a lot of books before I see the movie from HP to Twilight and when I’m at the theater no one mentions the books. This was one of the first movies where after it was over I heard people saying “No, you totally need to read the book”.

    I hated how they didn’t focus on the bread scene. It didn’t look like she was starving and it looked like she was just taking a nap.

  2. Lucybird

    Yeah I didn’t really like that either, but I could sort of see why they cut it, the film was long anyway. It probably could have been done better though

  3. Pingback: Top 10 best and worst film adaptations | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Film of the Book: Catching Fire | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

