Film of the Book: Confessions of a Shopaholic

Becky Bloomwood has to be one of the most annoying book characters I have ever encountered. Yet I have read 5 of the current 6 books in the series, mostly as a teenager, simply because I find it next to impossible to give up on a series before I have finished it (at the time I gave up on the Shopaholic series the 6th book was not out, and it’s been long enough now to not be bothered).

So why did I think Becky of the films would irritate me less? I don’t know, maybe I just thought it would be one of the changes the film made (as all films do make changes). Unfortunately, if anything, I found Becky more irritating in the film. While in the book I sometimes found her stupidity funny, in the film I just found it cringe worthy. At best I wasn’t sure whether to laugh or cry in parts of the film.

They made some really stupid changes too. Like re-locating to New York, really didn’t see any reason for that. Plus they changed one of the only bits I liked in the books, when Becky and Luke met, there was some similarity but it wasn’t funny anymore. The other part of the books which I liked were a bit to far ahead to include in a film, although it’s still a shame that they changed the film so that any chance of doing it in a later film was taken away.

Buy it:

The Film: Confessions of a Shopaholic (£4.47)

Book 1: The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic (£5.11)

Book 2: Shopaholic Abroad (£5.11)

Book 3: Shopaholic Ties the Knot (£5.09)

Book 4: Shopaholic and Sister (£5.11)

Book 5: Shopaholic and Baby (£5.09)

Book 6: Mini Shopaholic (£4.51)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Film review

Leave a Reply

