The Hunger Games- Suzanne Collins

Image from Amazon

Synopsis (from Amazon)

A fight to the death – on live TV. The game show where you kill or die, and where the winner’s prize is survival. In District 12, where Katniss Everdeen lives, life is harsh and brutal, ruled from afar by the all-powerful leaders of the Capitol. The climax of each year is the savage Hunger Games – where twelve boys and twelve girls from each District face each other in a murderous showdown. When sixteen-year-old Katniss is chosen to represent her district in the Games, everyone thinks it’s a death sentence. Only one person can survive the horrors of the arena. But plucky Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature…

<br<

Review
So basically I was resisting reading this for ages because I thought it just sounded like s sanitized version of Battle Royale. Which is a stupid reason not to read it really seeing as I have only ever seen the film of Battle Royale and it was too gory for me, why would I not prefer a sanitized version? Maybe there is just a part of me who thought I would find the book easier, after all that is what I found with The Beach, I could read the book but couldn’t watch the film. And while Battle Royale was too gory for me I could appreciate it was a good film, so maybe I just didn’t want a dumbed down version? I don’t know, I’m just stubborn, and I don’t like reading popular things for some reason (unless I read them before they become popular, that’s ok).
Anyway I am waffling. I was actually pleasantly surprised by The Hunger Games. It took a little while for me to properly get into it although it was easy reading so I didn’t get through the less interesting chunk at the beginning. I found the book generally well paced and it contained enough twists to keep me on my toes. There was plenty of action  to keep me reading and wanting to know what happened next. but enough calmer times to be able to reflect on what was going on and to stop the book seeming too plot driven.
I am unsure about reading the next book. Based on the blurb it sounds a bit like a sequel for the sake of writing a sequel, although The Hunger Games was open ended enough to allow a sequel (or not).
I must admit though I do want to read Battle Royale now, even if just to see how similar the two books really are.
5/5
Buy it:
Kindle (£4.03)
Paperback (£4.48)
Hardback (£9.14)
Other Reviews:
Did I miss your review? Link me up
11 Comments

Filed under Dystopian, Fiction review, YA

11 responses to “The Hunger Games- Suzanne Collins

  1. I found this book a bit hard to read, but liked it’s premise. I feel like the culture of trilogy and knowing everyone had to remain alive killed it for me. You can check out our thoughts here if you like! http://wherepenmeetspaper.blogspot.com/2011/12/book-review-hunger-games.html

  2. Lucybird

    That is a bit of a problem with series generally isn’t it. Even if someone is at risk you know they won’t die because you know there’s another book

  3. Pingback: On Series | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Catching Fire- Suzanne Collins | Lucybird's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Film of the Book: The Hunger Games | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Mockingjay- Suzanne Collins | Lucybird's Book Blog

  7. Pingback: Review of the Year 2012- Fiction | Lucybird's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: Top 10 best and worst film adaptations | Lucybird's Book Blog

  9. Pingback: Blogiversary Competition Time | Lucybird's Book Blog

  10. Pingback: Deals of the Moment- August | Lucybird's Book Blog

  11. Pingback: Deals of the Moment- February 2017 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

