House of Silence- Linda Gillard

Image from Amazon

Synopsis (from Amazon)

“My friends describe me as frighteningly sensible, not at all the sort of woman who would fall for an actor. And his home. And his family.”

Orphaned by drink, drugs and rock n’ roll, Gwen Rowland is invited to spend Christmas at her boyfriend Alfie’s family home, Creake Hall – a ramshackle Tudor manor in Norfolk. She’s excited about the prospect of a proper holiday with a proper family, but soon after she arrives, Gwen senses something isn’t quite right. Alfie acts strangely toward his family and is reluctant to talk about the past. His mother, a celebrated children’s author, keeps to her room, living in a twilight world, unable to distinguish between past and present, fact and fiction. And then there’s the enigma of an old family photograph…

When Gwen discovers fragments of forgotten family letters sewn into an old patchwork quilt, she starts to piece together the jigsaw of the past and realises there’s more to the family history than she’s been told. It seems there are things people don’t want her to know.

And one of those people is Alfie…

Review

When I found out that Linda Gillard’s new book was only coming out in digital format I was disappointed. I didn’t have a Kindle and I wanted to read it (and honestly reading on my ipod really ruins the reading experience). So when I got my Kindle it was one of the first books I bought. Having really liked Emotional Geology and Star Gazing, and loving A Lifetime Burning, I had pretty high hopes for this one.

Were my hopes met? Well I enjoyed it certainly, and although it took a little getting in to I didn’t want it to stop by the end. The old manor house and family intrigue put me in mind of Kate Morton’s The Distant Hours, and for some reason parts of plots began to blend in my head after I had read this one. It’s strange because apart from an old house and family secrets there is very little similarity. You don’t expect the same sort of secrets (even if at certain points it seems to be going that way you are shocked by it and expect even at the time for it not to be as it seems). There is the love element which The Distant Hours doesn’t have.

The one love interest in the book is pretty classic Gillard. Not the strong handsome type of chick-lit but sensitive, and flawed with a past that makes him more that just ‘the love interest’. The other, at least initially, seems much more your standard ‘hero’ type, handsome, charming, witty, but somewhat fake. I liked them both though [highlight for spoiler]In fact for once I didn’t like the woman so much. Well maybe that’s not true, I did like Gwen. Maybe really I mean I wouldn’t have made the choice she did. I preferred Alfie most of the way through, and by the end it was quite a close call.

I wouldn’t say it is Gillard’s best work of what I have read but still certainly worth the read.

4/5

Buy it:

For Kindle

CymLowell

11 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review

11 responses to “House of Silence- Linda Gillard

  1. Thanks, Lucy, for your positive & thoughtful review. I actually agree with you about the spoiler highlight. I think I too might have made a different choice from Gwen’s. I felt very torn as an author and the character who loses out in the end was definitely my favourite (and much the easiest to write!)

  2. Pingback: A Lifetime Burning re-release | Lucybird's Book Blog

  3. Lucybird

    Oh now I like it even more knowing you found it a difficult decision! I understood why Gwen made it I suppose, just didn’t want her to!

  4. It’s very tempting as an author to make everything “tidy”, to dole out happy endings all round, particularly when you think characters deserve a bit of happiness. But that’s not how it is in real life. Life isn’t fair. But in my books I try to strike a balance between a story that’s convincingly realistic but also enjoyable. (Stories of random tragedy we can get from newspapers.)

    You might also be interested to know that as I was writing the book, I didn’t know which man Gwen would end up with. I decided quite late on!

  5. Lucybird

    I think you do that well. Certainly it’s more believable as all those same-old-same-old chick-lits out there.

    That is interesting to know. How did you decide?

  6. The way I always decide. The characters told me. Like you, I wanted Gwen to make a different choice, but she told me I was wrong. I could also see (because he told me) that one character had to end up alone, because that was his essential nature – to be a loner.

    I feel as if I enter into a dialogue with my characters. We negotiate and sometimes they have very different ideas about the story should go! But their ideas are always better. 😉

  7. Lucybird

    Well that just goes to show how well you know your characters! So of course they are always right 🙂

  8. Pingback: Untying the Knot- Linda Gillard | Lucybird's Book Blog

  9. Pingback: House of Silence – Linda Gillard « The Bookworm Chronicles

  10. Pingback: Ninepins- Rosy Thornton | Lucybird's Book Blog

  11. Pingback: Top 10 Indie | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

