Review of the Year 2011- Best fiction

This year I read quite a few books which scored 5/5 so could be my best fiction book of the year. I have left out the Harry Potter books as they were re-reads but that still leaves a good few books:

War of Don Emmanuel’s Nether Parts- Louis de Berneries

When God was a Rabbit- Sarah Winman

Shades of Grey- Jasper Fforde

Everything is Illuminated- Jonathon Safron Foer

The Help- Kathryn Stockett

Oh how much I loved all these books. It’s very difficult to choose just one. They are all quite different. But when it comes down to it I just have to go with my heart. And my heart says…

War Of Don Emmanuel’s Nether Parts

A lot of my decision is really down to personal reasons rather than reasons why people generally would like the book. Yes it’s fabtastic. Funny. Moving. Fantastically written. When it comes down to it though it’s a book which meets up to my expectations of Louis de Berneieres which were set by Captain Correlli’s Mandolin. it might, might, even be…better. *Shock! Horror!* For so long I have been reading Louis de Berniere’s books to try and find something which at least partially meets up to how much I love Captain Corelli’s and so far had been disappointed.

I can’t wait to read the next in the series.

For my whole review click the link at the top. To buy The War of Don Emmanuel’s Nether Parts from Amazon click the link at the top of this section.

5 Comments

Filed under general

5 responses to “Review of the Year 2011- Best fiction

  1. I read all your picks apart from your favourite last year. I’ll definitely have to wishlist it.

  2. Lucybird

    Oh do. It’s fantastic

  3. I loved The Help and When God Was a Rabbit – such good choices! Everything is Illuminated has been in my TBR pile for ages – I’ll have to try to get to it this year. Have a wonderful 2012!

  4. Lucybird

    Thanks 🙂 You should get round to Everything is Illuminated, it’s a bit different but very funny.

    Happy New YEar

  5. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Recommend the Most | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

