The Girl Who Played with Fire- Stieg Larsson

Image from Amazon

This is the second book in the Millennium series. You can read my review of the first book, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, here.

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Lisbeth Salander is a wanted woman. Two Millennium journalists about to expose the truth about sex trafficking in Sweden are murdered, and Salander’s prints are on the weapon. Her history of unpredictable and vengeful behaviour makes her an official danger to society – but no-one can find her. Mikael Blomkvist, editor-in-chief of Millennium, does not believe the police. Using all his magazine staff and resources to prove Salander’s innocence, Blomkvist also uncovers her terrible past, spent in criminally corrupt institutions. Yet Salander is more avenging angel than helpless victim. She may be an expert at staying out of sight – but she has ways of tracking down her most elusive enemies.

Review.

It’s taken me over a year to finally get around to reading this book. I wasn’t especially impressed by the first one in the series but interested enough to want to read the second, I just wasn’t in any hurry to do so. Consequentally I have forgotten a lot of what happened in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and they made some of the reference in this book a bit difficult- but did not stop me understanding the story as a whole. I think maybe I would have enjoyed this one more if I had read them close together but I still enjoyed it a fair bit.
For my memory this one is better than The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, I was more interested to see what would happen next. I’m still unsure though if it was actually better or if I just has less expectations of it which made it easier to enjoy, I wasn’t waiting for it to impress me the whole time.

3.5/5

5 Comments

Filed under Crime, Fiction review

5 responses to “The Girl Who Played with Fire- Stieg Larsson

  1. Pingback: Steig Larsson | Bell Book Candle

  2. Pingback: THE GIRL WHO PLAYED WITH FIRE, by Stieg Larsson. (Knopf Doubleday Publishing.) In Volume 2 of the Millennium trilogy, a Swedish hacker becomes a murder suspect. | New York Times Best Selling Books

  3. Pingback: THE GIRL WHO KICKED THE HORNET’S NEST, by Stieg Larsson. (Knopf Doubleday Publishing.) Volume 3 of the Millennium trilogy, about a Swedish hacker and a journalist | New York Times Best Selling Books

  4. Pingback: The Psychology of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo- Robin S. Rosenberg et al. | Lucybird's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Top 10 Character Names | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

