Film of the Book: The Lovely Bones

The trailer tells more of the story than is really ideal, however I wouldn’t go as far as to say it contains real spoilers.

I read the book The Lovely Bones quite a few years ago now and really do not remember it clearly. All I remember is that I didn’t think it was worth the hype and that I really did not like the ending. I couldn’t remember why I didn’t like the ending- but it was the one thing that the film reminded me of, oh I wish they had changed it!

Other than that though I really liked the film. I might even go as far as to say that I preferred it to the book. Saoirse Ronan who played the lead character, Susie really was fantastic, especially as she was only 13 at the time of filming. I’ve seen her in Hanna before and she really carried the show in that so I think she is definitely one to watch.

Ultimately it was very sad, but it was also much more action based than I had anticipated. Several times both me and my boyfriend were shouting at the screen because we could see what was going to happen (in some ways it was built that you knew what would ultimately happen but it didn’t stop me from wanting to change it!), or what might happen.

I wouldn’t say it’s one of the best films I’ve ever seen but certainly worth a look.

2 Comments

Filed under Film review

2 responses to “Film of the Book: The Lovely Bones

  1. I agree on your opinion on the ending. I loved the book and the ending ruined it for me, and while not liking the ending in the movie, I enjoyed it a lot more compared to the book’s version. 🙂

  2. Lucybird

    Yeah I think I did too.

Leave a Reply

