The Hare the Amber Eyes- Edmund de Waal

Image from Amazon

This book was read as part of the Take a Chance Challenge

Synopsis(from Amazon)

The history of a family through 264 objects – set against a turbulent century – from an acclaimed writer and potter

Note: This is the short description from Amazon. The long description gives away just a little to much, so I decided to leave it more mysterious.

Review

This book, which was the winner of the Costa Biography Prize last year, got a lot of buzz towards the end of last year and during this year (although I don’t believe I’ve seen any bloggers reviewing it, if you have please link me so I can look). It made it a pretty easy choice as my book recommended by a professional reviewer for the Take a Chance Challenge, but it’s taken me all year to actually get around to reading it.

One thing I can say that really stood out in this book was the descriptions, especially the descriptions of places and objects. I could really imagine what the netsuke looked and felt like, and I came out of the book wanting to visit Vienna. The last time a book has made me want to visit a place was when I read The Historian back before I started this blog.

I did have a bit of an odd relationship with this book though. When I was actually reading it I found I was quite interested, but when I had put it down I was never really that bothered about picking it up again. At one point I was even on the brink of giving up on it, but with a little persuasion from my Mum, and he knowledge that I did find it interesting part of the time, kept me going. I am glad I did. While I didn’t find the first part of the story that interesting I really raced though the last hundred or so pages because I was generally enjoying that section. I think just the period of time it was set in was interesting (during the second world war) or maybe it was just because I knew that period of history so I could put events into a more clear setting. I did like however the thread going through the book setting a sort of atmosphere for what was to come. I suppose that is history, but certainly it was a good idea to make that path clear.

One thing I would have really liked in this book though is more pictures of the Netsuke, however there is an illustrated edition which may work better.

3/5

4 Comments

Filed under Biography, History, non-fiction review

4 responses to “The Hare the Amber Eyes- Edmund de Waal

  1. Pingback: The Take a Chance Challenge 2011 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Review of the Year 2011- Challenges | Lucybird's Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Review of the Year 2011- Non-Fiction | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. Toots

    I’m glad you persevered with this book, as it is so rewarding in the long term. The descriptions of Nazi occupation were particularly telling. De Waal does not idealise his family and their frail humanity is easy to identify with. I felt very sad for them as their fortunes plummeted.

Leave a Reply

