Crazy- Benjamin Lebert

From Amazon


Synopsis (from Amazon)

Benjamin Lebert introduces himself on the first day at his new school: “Hi, I’m Benjamin Lebert, I’m 16 and a cripple. Just so you know…” He is paralysed down his left side, but nevertheless lives his life to the full as a rebellious schoolboy, smoking, drinking, running away, meeting girls and having sex – and all the while pondering the meaning of life.

Review

When I reviewed The Perks of Being a Wallflower (which I loved) Zee of Zee’s Wordly Obsessions recommended Crazy to me, suggesting that it may be something similar. Well I’m sorry Zee but I really didn’t really find Crazy comparable to The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I’m not saying it was bad, I just couldn’t find myself relating to it in the way that I related to The Perks of Being a Wallflower. The one thing I found a could relate to was Benjamin’s annoyance at his body not doing what he wanted but it was only briefly mentioned. I can say I preferred it to Catcher in the Rye though, I never really liked Holden but I didn’t mind Benjamin. In some ways I thought Lebert was trying to make Crazy more like Catcher in the Rye as he often included passages where the boys would philosophise. Mainly though this philosophising seemed pointless, and even annoyed me a little. There was nothing profound about it, but I did kind of like how the boys thought they were being profound, it seems realistic for how teenagers would view their own thoughts- as being really original and earth breaking.

One thing I didn’t understand is that the book is categorised as a novel (it even says a novel on the back cover), but the main protagonist has the same name as the writer, which suggests it’s actually and autobiography. Does anyone know what it actually is?

A quick and easy read, it took me less than 2 days to read.

3/5

8 Comments

Filed under Fiction review, YA

8 responses to “Crazy- Benjamin Lebert

  1. This was an excellent review. I think I’ll pass on this one though as I’m not a big fan of “Catcher” and teem boys thoughts of the world don’t interest me much.

    Thank you for the frank and honest critic.

  2. Lucybird

    Thank you, and thanks for visiting.

  3. The following time I read a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I know it was my choice to read, however I actually thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you might repair if you happen to werent too busy on the lookout for attention.

  4. Lucybird

    I’m sorry you didn’t like my blog Modesta. I of course do not expect everyone to like it as tastes are different.

    Unfortunately I wasn’t crazy about Crazy, but I did try to put good sides of it across, sorry if all you could see was the negatives of what I said. If you look a bit further back you will find some more positive posts, although I admit my latest one is a bit complainy!

  5. Lucybird

    By the way the link to your blog doesn’t work. Maybe this is why wordpress picked you up as spam

  6. gillybilly

    can you tell me the main characters and problem/solution??!!

  7. Is this help on your school work by any chance? If so then no, but you may find some of it from reading the synopsis and review.

  8. Maia

    Lucybird: When I was around 14 years old or so, I read a short article on a newspaper about a teen writer who had written a novel based on his own life. The journalist emphasized the fact that the boy/author elaborated on his troubled life: dealing with peers, uneasy family relationships, alcohol, (teenage)sex, all this while having to put up with some sort of disability. I remember how strongly I could relate to all that back then, we have all been there, in that awkward place called adolescence, even perceiving ourselves “unfitted” like Benjamin. I got the feeling it was a book I had to read, besides the author looked utterly cute( I don’t know how old are you, but those were the days of blond baby-faced teen heartthrobs à la Nick Carter), unfortunately the book never became available in my country.
    Today having exhausted the Internet searches I could come up with after 3 days in bed, Bejamin Lebert came to my mind, so I decided to find out what happened with him. And thanks to ebooks finally got a chance of reading a coming of age book written by a teenager…in my thirties. All I can say it is not impressive and I left it with the feeling that if I had read it in my teens, today that book would have been a good memory, and even one of those which left a mark in me, like “My lime orange tree” or “The little Prince”, but “Crazy” it’s not s good read for grown ups.
    Bottomline: if you didn’t read it before your first kiss, you won’t get to like it now. But thanks to its easy reading and relatable teen issues, I understand why it is a teacher’s favorite.
    On a side note, I must say Lebert- the actual person- aged nicely, and on a better side note I’m sure I’ll be revisiting your blog, because I liked your style.
    P.S.: I recall him stating that the novel is not an accurate self biography, it’s more of an “embellished” recount of his life.

Leave a Reply

