Children’s Book Week (Picture books Pt2)

When I wrote my post on picture books earlier this week I said that I was going to write another one this week for books which I had discovered later on, mainly while working in childcare (I work with pre-school and toddler children). I’ve picked books that the children like but that I also enjoy.


Good Baby, Bad Baby- Nanette Newman

This is a lovely book. I love the pictures. Good Baby, Bad Baby is two stories in one. One about Good Baby (“…She plays very nicely with her best friend Paul, she doesn’t like rough games or pushing at all…”) and one about Bad Baby (“…she shouts for more biscuits when she’s given cake. She combs Nanny’s hair with the old garden rake…”). The kids at work generally choose to read Bad Baby over Good Baby, and I must admit I find it more entertaining too. Both stories are written in poem for and end with the same word (I’m sure that this baby isn’t like/this baby just has to be you!). Of course if you have a Bad Baby you may want to change the endings!

I’m Not Cute!- Johnathon Allen

This is a cute book. Secretly baby owl reminds me a little of some of the kids at work- but I’m not sure they would enjoy it so much if I said so! They’re always excited to see this book and shout “Baby Owl! Baby Owl”. It’s a pretty simple story. Baby owl goes for a walk in the woods hoping to find some peace and quiet, but instead he finds fox, squirrel, and rabbit all proclaiming how cute he is. Baby owl is not happy.

Where’s Boo? series- Rebecca Elgar

These lovely lift-the-flap books are really popular with the kids with their bright pictures and interactivity. The only problem is in a nursery setting the kids argue over who gets to lift the flap. The books are set in different locations. For each page there is something to count, then a flap to lift as the children search for Boo, along the way they find his friends. The kids tend to like Growling Tiger (“run away, run away!”) and Sleeping Bear (“tip-toe, tip toe”). As with Good Baby, Bad Baby this book is all written in rhyme. Unfortunately they no longer seem to be in print, I tried to find one for my niece last year, but you should be able to get one second hand.

Walking Through the Jungle- Stella Blackstone

This book is based on the song Walking Through the Jungle, it starts as the song does, by looking in the jungle but moves onto other habitats. With beautiful bold pictures. Our kids already knew the song but could now ‘read’ the book themselves.

That’s Not My… Series- Fiona Watt

The That’s not my series are a beautiful collection on touchy feely books. They’re most appropriate for babies as they can explore all the different textures, but they can help older children to learn how to describe texture too. Each book is basically the same. A series of something (the link is for a dinosaur, so I shall use that example) all of which are not my dinosaur because of something e.g. their spots are too fluffy until right at the end you find your dinosaur.

Owl Babies- Martin Waddell

I did already know this book before I started at the nursery but it was more my sister’s generation than mine, and the kids love it so much I can’t not mention it! One day three baby owls wake up and their Mummy is gone. They increasingly become more anxious. The children especially like Bill and love to join in with “I want my Mummy”.

Special mentions go to: Peace At Last
, Five Minutes’ Peace (Large Family)
,A Hug for Humphrey
You Choose!
Hungry Hen
The Commotion in the Ocean (Orchard Picturebooks)

3 Comments

Filed under Fiction review, Musings

3 responses to “Children’s Book Week (Picture books Pt2)

  1. Zoe

    A good mix of new and familiar books for me here. Walking through the jungle is a great read aloud with its strong rhythm and vibrant illustrations

  2. Lucybird

    Our copy of Walking Through the Jungle is a little over loved! But we know it off by heart so it doesn’t matter so much!

  3. Pingback: No Hitting!: A Lift-the-Flap Book | Children Development Stages

Leave a Reply

