Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire- J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Image via Wikipedia

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was a re-read as part of the Harry Potter Read-a-Long.

This review may contain spoilers for the Harry Potter series of books and films.

Synopsis (from Amazon)

The summer holidays are dragging on and Harry Potter can’t wait for the start of the school year. It is his fourth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and there are spells to be learnt and (unluckily) Potions and Divination lessons to be attended. But Harry needs to be on his guard at all times – his worst enemy is preparing a terrible fate for him.

Review

Oh I had forgotten how much I loved this one. I mean I knew I love it but I had forgotten how much. I suppose the fact that the spine has fallen off my original edition shows how much it has been read, and that must show some love. I decided to buy a new copy because I neither wanted to destroy my original nor lug a great big hardback around with me (not that that ever stops me but it’s a bonus to buying a new copy). So I bought one of the new signature editions, which I think are really quite pretty but don’t hold the same wonder for the that the original children’s editions do, maybe simply because they are not the Harry Potter books I know. Anyway I am waffling.

Right from the onset Goblet of Fire promises an excitement which isn’t promised at the start of the previous three books. The Riddle House is somewhat of a mystery in the way it links to the whole story (I remember when I first read it someone asking me about The Riddle House). Savy readers will see the link between Voldemort’s real name (Tom Riddle) and the house, I don’t quite understand how I didn’t get it the first time, maybe just eagerness to get on with the story.

Then of course the excitement continues at the Quidditch World Cup, then there’s the Triwizard Tournament. It’s just excitement after excitement from start to finish. Considering how long this book is that’s no mean feat.

A lot of my feelings to do with this book are to do with my own personal Harry Potter history. It was the release of this book that made me realise that there were other people who loved Harry’s world as much as I did when I saw its release on newsround. I remember reserving the book at my local bookshop (which is the strangest bookshop come newsagent come grocers) and actually getting it a day early because that was when it was delivered. Oh the excitement that I could read this eagerly awaited book before most people had even got their hands on it! It was also this book which started getting me into fandom, so indirectly it’s to thank (or blame!) for this blog.

Ooh Order of the Phoenix next…that means I get to meet Luna!

5/5

 

6 Comments

Filed under Fiction review, YA

6 responses to “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire- J.K. Rowling

  1. I think it deserves 6 out of 5. haha! one of my favs in the series.

  2. Pingback: BBW 2011 Read: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling | live through books…

  3. Pingback: Potter! Goblet of Fire & Order of the Phoenix « The Potted Plot

  4. Pingback: Book Blogger Hop | Lucybird's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Book Covers | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Top 10 best and worst film adaptations | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

