BBAW: Reading and Blogging

Yikes well how has blogging changed my reading habits, and book acquisition habits?

Well to start off with I am probably buying more books. Before I started book blogging I rarely had more than 3 books on my to be read (TBR) pile, now I’m lucky if it reaches single figures. I know lots of bloggers have much bigger TBR piles than me, within the 100s, so I suppose I am quite restrained. My wishlist has also soared, my current Amazon wishlist stands at 95 items, most of which are recommendations from other bloggers, that’s not counting the books I have noted in books from browsing book stores, or from seeing other people reading, and from reading other books.

Then there is of course the books I have received free from wonderfully generous publishers and authors, which I may never have read or even heard of otherwise. I’ve read some great books this way.

Then there are challenges and read-a-long which put me onto new books or make me more determined to read books I had on my TBR pile or wishlist. I’m currently taking part in the Haruki Murakami Challenge, The Take a Chance Challenge, The Rory Gilmore Challenge, and The Harry Potter Read-a-long.

As for actually reading? Well I pretty much go about things the same way. Sometimes I think of what I might say on my blog when I review a book, but only usually when I have strong feelings about it, or when something sticks in my mind. I probably try to think more critically when reading a book I’ve been asked to review, but only so it won’t be just a gut reaction.

8 Comments

Filed under general

8 responses to “BBAW: Reading and Blogging

  1. My TBR pile is HUGE! It used to be very manageable…

  2. Nice bird pics-I am very into Murakami

    I am stopping by from the Philippines to see how book blogging has changed your reading life

    How Book Blogging Transformed My Reading Life

  3. I’m not even sure my TBR list has ever reached double digits, much less single! I keep my list in a spreadsheet, but maybe I should move it to Amazon, where it would be easier for family and friends to use it for holiday shopping? I’m not much of a challenge person (they stress me out) but I LOVE readalongs — they’re one of my favorite ways to read!

  4. TBR pile is TOO long but what to do?

    As our blogs are reflect our personality, we all look out for different blogging tools. One should go for that wchich suits her/his blog. One should always keep the reasder in mind. Afterall, we all want readers on our blog. And comments!
    Here is my post:

    BBAW 2011: Readers

  5. Lucybird

    I’m glad mine isn’t too out of hand! I know some people have a buying ban until their TBR piles are manageable

  6. Lucybird

    lol maybe. I’ve always wanted to take part in a read-a-long but weekends re the only time I get to spend with the boyfriend and during the week work keeps me busy so I haven’t managed it, yet

  7. Lucybird

    Thanks, I found them on google but I thought they fitted my blog quite well

  8. Lucybird

    lol mine seems to be growing very quickly at the moment…not sure why!

Leave a Reply

