Man Booker Prize Shortlist 2011

So the shortlist for this years Booker has been announced. I’ve read 2 of the books, neither of which I was very impressed with.  Links lead to my own reviews.

The shortlist is:

The Sense of an Ending- Julian Barnes

Well Julian Barnes has a good reputation, but I’ve never read anything by him so can’t really comment. However Arthur and George has been on my to be read pile for literally years.

 Jamrach’s Menagerie- Carol Birch

I love the cover of this book, and am fairly interested in the story. I may pick it up at some point

The Sisters Brothers- Patrick deWitt

Another one I am fairly interested in. Could be completely crazy and far fetched though.

 

Half Blood Blues- Esi Edugyan

This book promised to be a bit of a war story and a bit of a mystery, but wasn’t that great of either. I see some similarity between this and Pigeon English though in that they are both written in a different sort of tone of voice. No real problem with it just don’t think it’s worth the win

Pigeon English- Stephen Kelman

I can really see why the critics like this one. It’s about a quite, fashionable topic. The writing style is quite authentic as that of a migrant boy, and a child trying to adapt to a new culture, but that was also a voice which really annoyed me, and it was kind of predictable.

Snowdrops- A.D. Miller 

Ths is the only one I really don’t have any thought or feelings on at all.

Read my post on The Booker Longlist

1 Comment

Filed under News

One response to “Man Booker Prize Shortlist 2011

  1. Pingback: Orange Fiction Prize 2012 | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

