Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban- J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Image via Wikipedia

This book was a re-read as part of The Harry Potter Read-A-Long.

This review contains spoiler for the Harry Potter series

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Harry Potter is a wizard. He is in his third year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. It’s always a relief after summer with the Dursleys, however, Harry doesn’t realise that this year will be just as eventful as the last two! The atmosphere at Hogwarts is tense. There’s an escaped mass murderer on the loose, even the Muggles have been warned. The sinister prison guards of Azkaban have been called in to guard the school and Harry, Ron and Hermione rapidly discover why all witches and wizards live in fear of being sent to Azkaban. Lessons, however, must go on and there are lots of new subjects in third year – Care of Magical Creatures and Divination among others. Plus the delights of Hogsmeade, the only village in the UK entirely populated by the magical community.

Review

I know this book is a favourite among many of Harry’s fans but of the books I’m read so far it’s been the one I’ve looked forward to the least. It’s not my least favourite but it is far from my favourite and my excitement about the read-a-long has abated a little. I was trying to stop myself reading The Prisoner of Azkaban at the beginning of the month but suddenly the end of the month was here and I was worried I wouldn’t finish it in time! Luckily I finished it today just within the time!

Having said this is not my favourite there still are a lot of things I like about it. Not least of all. I love the introduction of Lupin in this book, I think he remains my favourite teacher, or at least my favourite Defence Against the Dark Arts teacher. In fact Lupin remains a favourite character of mine all the way through, despite his behaviour in Deathly Hallows. I also quite like hearing a little bit about James’ time at Hogwarts and his friends, and finding out a little about what happened the day Harry’s parents died. Those who know my love of Harry will confirm I’ve always been very interested in back story. However Marauder back story, although interesting is not something I feel the need to explore, I would much rather read about Voldemort’s school days. I think that’s one of the reasons I don’t like Prisoner of Azkaban so much, it’s very light on Voldemort. Despite that I do think it’s important in Voldemort’s gradual rise to power

5/5

6 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction review, YA

6 responses to “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban- J.K. Rowling

  1. Im a fan.. but this is my least favourite..

  2. Lucybird

    I’m glad I am not the only one who is not such a fan of Azkaban then 🙂

  3. I also love Lupin–such a great character. Prisoner of Azkaban doesn’t have as much backstory as Order of the Phoenix and Half-Blood Prince, but I think it’s *SPOILER ALERT* what looks like Snape’s change of heart and the time traveling that appeals most to people. It’s not my favourite either (#1 is for me, #7 being close) but it’s probably #3/7. Which one is your favourite?

  4. Lucybird

    I like backstory personally, maybe that’s part of the reason I don’t like it so much. My favourites are Chamber of Secrets and Half-Blood Prince, I like all the Voldemort back story

  5. Pingback: Book Blogger Hop | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Top 10 best and worst film adaptations | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

