The Economics of Ego Surplus- Paul McDonnold

I was sent a copy of this book free in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Part action novel, part literary novel, part guidebook to economics, The Economics of Ego Surplus is the story of college instructor Kyle Linwood. Anticipating a relaxing summer with his girlfriend and his PhD dissertation, he gets recruited by the FBI to help with an obscure case of terrorist internet “chatter,” which explodes into a shocking, mysterious assault on U.S. financial markets. As the economy melts down and a nation panics, Kyle follows a trail of clues from Dallas to New York City to Dubai, United Arab Emirates. In his quest to discover the truth, he will be forced to confront the assumptions underlying his education as well as his life. But will it be enough to save America from the most brilliant terrorist plot ever conceived?

Review

I must admit I was sceptical about this book. I liked the idea of trying to teach something about economics through a book, but I guess my ideas of economics and of crime novels just didn’t fit together. I was intrigued to see how McDonnold would teach while still making the book entertaining.
I must say I was impressed. It took a little time for the book to get going but once I got into it I really couldn’t put it down! It was pretty exciting and I was waiting to see what the main character and the ‘terrorists’ would do next. I’m not sure if their sabotage of the economy is really plausible but it made for a good read.
I do think I actually learnt a bit too, I think I understand a bit more about how the market works now, and it gives some grounding behind some of the ideas the government have been flying around in the last few years, things such as to keep spending to help the economy recover, something which seemed a little strange to me before. As I was reading it to review I was trying to see if it would teach me anything but I don’t think it would be obviously doing so if you weren’t looking for it.
Actually the main problem I would say is the name, I kind of get how it fits in with the story as a whole but from just looking at the cover I wouldn’t see it as a crime novel, I may not even see it as a novel at all, at least not until I had read the subtitle.

4/5

You can read an extract of The Economics of Ego Surplus at Starving Analyst Press
4 Comments

Filed under Crime, Fiction review

4 responses to “The Economics of Ego Surplus- Paul McDonnold

  1. agreed with what you have said. Vased on the name and bookcover, there is a low possibility that I would pick up this book

    kathy
    http://www.smallkucing.com
    http://mamakucingbooks.blogspot.com

  2. Lucybird

    It’s a shame as the book is good.

  3. Thanks for your review. Others have questioned the title too; I am going to have to ponder a re-release with a new one.

  4. Lucybird

    I think it might be a good idea, it does make it sound a bit too much like a textbook until you know the story.

    Thanks for letting me read it 🙂

Leave a Reply

