Mini Review: Tales of Beedle the Bard

This review is more from memory than from a recent read, but I wanted to mention it

The Tales of Beedle the Bard

The Tales of Beedle the Bard is a book of Wizard’s Fairy Tales. It features strongly in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, and the story of the Hallows is taken from it. It’s a charming little book, the fairy tales follow a structure which will be familiar to anyone who has ever been told a fairly tale, but they are completely new tales. Of course the Tale of the Three Brothers is the one which is interesting in terms of the series itself, as it is the tale of the hallows, but in terms of The Tales of Beedle the Bard we already know the story from Deathly Hallows. My favourite is The Fountain of Fair Fortune, I’m not really sure, maybe just because it’s the closest to a ‘muggle’ fairytale. The book also includes notes and a forward written by Dumbledore, which is funny and well worth the read.

Don’t forget to enter my Harry Potter Giveaway, entries close tomorrow.

The Tales of Beedle the Bard

Image via Wikipedia

6 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction review, YA

6 responses to “Mini Review: Tales of Beedle the Bard

  1. I gave that to my sister as a gift, last month. She LOVES it and I’m going to read it as soon as possible. 😉

  2. Lucybird

    I hope you enjoy it too. I think Harry Potter fans probably get more out of it but I can see reading it to my kids as a stand alone book (but then I am cool like that!)

  3. Pingback: Harry Potter Week: Summery Post | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. I’ll tell you my opinion about it! 😉

  5. Lucybird

    Please do

  6. Pingback: Book Blogger Hop | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

