Film of the Book: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (part 2)

WARNING: This review contains SPOILERS for the Harry Potter books and films including Deathly Hallows

You can read my reviews of part 1 of the Deathly Hallows film and the book Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Well I must say I was disappointed. I never really like the Harry Potter films much, I’m such a massive fan of the books that I hate every little change. Since the second film I’ve tried to be more relaxed and see the films as films themselves rather than films of books. I can’t stop myself comparing a little (the flying dementors for example really get to me for some reason) but I am able to enjoy the films as themselves, I even bought a copy of Order of the Phoenix after being impressed with Luna but regretted it. However I was impressed with the first part of Deathly Hallows, and I must admit I have been hopeful and excited for this film, partly because of that and partly because of a sort of end of an era feeling about the film. It kind of meant that it was the end of new Harry Potter stuff, and that’s sad.

So on to the film. I feel like my thoughts are a bit all over the place, so rather than my usual review style I’m going to make a list of things I liked, and things I didn’t, and try and explain why.

Liked:

  • The fight between Voldemort and Harry, more epic than in the book, I think that sort of thing lends itself to film.
  • Neville’s awesome-ness, he was awesome in the books, but in a different way. I was disappointed how they changed the most awesome Neville moment in the book though, there didn’t even seem to be any point to do it that way…and they had all the ingredients there to actually do it.
  • Luna’s awesomeness when it came to finding the diadem. Another pointless change but Luna is my favourite character, and there wasn’t enough of her in Deathly Hallows.
  • The scene where Harry returned to Hogwarts, it did bring a little tear to me eye knowing what was to come after all the happiness.
  • Ginny’s reaction to Harry’s death, made me cry a little even though I knew he was alive
  • The deaths generally, but especially Fred’s killed me in the book, almost killed me in the film
  • 19 years later, I’m sure it wasn’t meant to be funny but it was hilariously cheesy!
  • McGonnagal’s awesomeness, again different to the book but still awesome.
  • The bridge scene, pretty cool and clever.

What I didn’t like:

  • Those damn flying dementors, DEMENTORS DON’T FLY!
  • Snape’s memories, how can he remember things he didn’t see (i.e. Lily’s death)? And what was with the memories coming from his tears? So cheesy and rubbish.
  • The sword of Gryffindor just appearing, what was that about? The burning sorting hat is an epic scene and could have been so good on screen.
  • Not my daughter you bitch! So uneventful, it’s one of the best parts of the book but it was just so undramatic.
  • The lack of Ravenclaw back story, I like the Helena/Bloody Baron story. And her knowing where the diadem is…she didn’t know that in the book right?
  • Ron and Hermione’s kiss. Meant to be totally happy moment in the middle of crazy battle and also a bit funny for inappropriate timing, just wasn’t.
  • Ron copying Harry’s parseltongue, not the best part of the book but it sounded like he could speak parseltongue rather than he was copying.
  • Neville and Luna pairing, Why? Just why? JK has said they are friends, nothing more, I don’t want them to be anything more, it’s to perfect in a sort of everyone has to be in a couple way, why is that?
  • No Kreacher. No fighting for Master Regulas
  • Ron not wanting to save the house elves, that’s why Hermione kissed him, not because of some stupid flood moment the same as every other scary slightly death like moment.
  • Harry not remembering that he had actually already seen the diadem when he hid the Half-blood Prince’s potion book, but randomly searching for it in this giant room
  • No explanation of the tunnel and new room of requirement
  • Whoops Harry forgot to fix his wand before he broke the elder wand
  • Putting the Slytherins in the dungeon, they were meant to be able to leave or stay and fight, as were the rest of the school

Ok so it technically took me till Sunday to write this…

 

 

15 Comments

Filed under Film review

15 responses to “Film of the Book: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (part 2)

  1. Justin

    Just shut up ur head full of poop deck. The movie was amazing and made the boring characters awesome. If u keep making bad comments why watch the movies? You watched the ones before and noticed that it is not the same as the books why watch this? So just shut up and and keep your trap shut!!!!!!! oh yeah im only 12 years old and it took me 1 minute to type this down.

  2. Pingback: Harry Potter Deathly Hallows Part 2 Ends Magic Epic Cultural Movie Phenom | Tasithoughts's Weblog

  3. Lucybird

    Well I am glad you enjoyed it. Unfortunately it is not for everyone. The reason I keep watching the films when I haven’t enjoyed them? Well I like to see how they adapt something to film. For this one I also really did like part one, it was not the same as the book (nor as good in my opinion) but as a film in itself I really liked it, and I didn’t mind most of the changes, I was hoping I would feel the same way about the second.

    You are as perfectly welcome to express your opinion as I am to express mine (although I would prefer it if you were a little more polite about it), they just differ.

    And well done for learning how to type.

  4. Pingback: Harry Potter Week: Summery Post | Lucybird's Book Blog

  5. Mimi

    I just saw the film today! Mostly managed to stay unspoilt about some scenes but… it’s the internet after all. Overall, I liked the movie because I’ve learned to separate them from the books, but there were a couple of things that bugged me (yeah, the tears memories were weird). However, I have to say how awesome Helena Bonham Carter playing Hermione playing Bellatrix was. Oh and McGonagol’s “I’ve always wanted to that spell.” Made me smile. Fred’s death was so heartbreaking… </3

  6. David

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts on the film Lucy. I thought the last book in the series was fantastic, and thought the Deathly Hallows part 1 film was really good. Part 2 was okay, but it left me feeling somewhat numb. *spoiler ahead* The special effects were spot on, but I can’t forgive the film for changing the final duel between Harry and Voldemort. The book has Harry revealing that he’s still alive and dueling Voldemort while they’re both surrounded by a huge crowd of people. The film has Harry reveal that he’s still alive, and then he instantly runs away from Voldemort and hides behind rubble. I liked how the book had Harry have his final duel with Voldemort where they were surrounded by a huge crowd of people who erupted into applause and tears of joy when Voldemort was defeated. The film has Harry defeat Voldemort with no-one else watching, and then shows Harry walking on his own past all of the other students, who may as well have just shrugged and said ‘Meh’ for all the care that they seem to show re: Voldemort’s defeat. I also loved in the book that Draco gave Harry a small nod of acknowledgment in the final segment, as a way of showing they had moved beyond their enmity – the film seemed to skip this. I was disappointed with this film, and won’t watch it again – the book/s will always be there, and in a much better way, for a Harry Potter ‘fix’.

  7. Lucybird

    I agree about the final duel. I can’t even see a real reason why they changed it, I mean surely it would have been more dramatic with all the students around?
    I also agree with you about Draco. I think they did make their peace in some way in the film, but it wasn’t the same.

  8. Nick

    I wanted to see kreacher fighting with a butchers knife! and Threstals soaring the air along with centaurs shooting arrows and kicking people with their horse legs. The movie needed more gaints, more dueling, a burning sorting hat, burning multiplying gold, A better fight between Bellatrix and Molly, *hated the upclose shots* I feel it took away from the fight even tho they shot all sence like this that had to do with a little wand flick.

  9. Pingback: Most Popular Posts | Lucybird's Book Blog

  10. Pingback: Top 10 best and worst film adaptations | Lucybird's Book Blog

  11. Pingback: It’s Blogiverary Time! | Lucybird's Book Blog

  12. elena

    Dementors don’t fly! That’s why I haven’t been able to watch past the 4th movie…

  13. Pingback: Review of the Year 2013- Popular Posts | Lucybird's Book Blog

  14. Pingback: Film of the Book: Mockingjay (Part 1) | Lucybird's Book Blog

  15. Pingback: Review of the Year 2014- Popular Posts | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

