Armchair BEA 2011

I’m a little late for the party but I just found out about the armchair BEA and am very excited to be participating. Seeing as I live in the UK getting to the ‘real’ Book Expo America isn’t the easiest thing for me! It’s good that I can join in without actually being there.

So about me…My name’s Lucy, I live in Birmingham in the UK. I’m 24, I’m a nursery nurse and absolutely love my job. I do lots of my reading on the bus because it takes me about an hour to get to work each day and an hour to get back. My taste in books is pretty varied but I mainly read contemporary fiction. I read a fair bit of historical fiction, usually focussed around the two world wars, a little Young Adult and very occasionally some Chick Lit. I read some none fiction too, mainly psychology stuff (I have a psychology degreee and I like o keep my feet in the psychology world). My wishlist is pretty much out of control but I almost never buy books from it because I get caught up in the 3 for 2s at Waterstones.

Some of my favourite books are the Harry Potter books and I pretty much credit them with my internet life, it all started off when I joined the forums over at the Bloomsbury website (which sadly no longer exist). I also love Phillip Pulman’s His Dark Materials, books by Sebastian Fawkes, The Time Traveller’s Wife, books by Jodi Picoult, Captain Correli’s Mandolin, The Historian, and books by Haruki Marukami.

When I’m not reading (or working) I like shopping, listening to music, watching TV (at the moment I’m mainly watching Glee, How I met Your Mother and The Apprentice) and anime, watching films and hanging around online.

My blog is mainly focussed around the book reviews. I don’t really take part in memes, just The Book Blogger Hop. I sometimes post musings as well to do with the bookworld and I post reviews of films which are based on books. I’ve just launched a new blog hop which is designed to get people looking at blogs which they wouldn’t normally look at, pop by sometime between Thursday and Sunday if you’d like to join in.

Thanks for dropping by, feel free to have a look around and comment on whatever you like 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under general

6 responses to “Armchair BEA 2011

  1. Thanks for sharing! I love your blog header…I’m wondering if those are your own birds! I’m also a big historical fiction fan.

  2. Becky Napoleon

    Thanks for joining Armchair BEA, Lucy! Did you create the Book Blogger Hop? I’m not familiar with it, but it sounds neat!

    All the best,
    Becky

  3. Welcome to Armchair BEA! I like historical fiction too. I recently read the History of Montmaray.

  4. Lucybird

    Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  5. Lucybird

    Hia Becky, thanks for stopping by. The Book blogger hope was created by Jennifer at Crazy for Books. I do have my own hop though, the Out the Comfort Zone Hop.

  6. Lucybird

    The birds are beutiful aren’t they, they aren’t my own (I have a cat, not sure how well he would get on with birds!) just an image I found on google.

    Thanks for visiting

Leave a Reply

