The Graveyard Book- Neil Gaiman

Cover of "The Graveyard Book"

Cover of The Graveyard Book

The Graveyard Book was read as part of the Take a Chance Challenge

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Winner of the Newbery Medal When a baby escapes a murderer intent on killing the entire family, who would have thought it would find safety and security in the local graveyard? Brought up by the resident ghosts, ghouls and spectres, Bod has an eccentric childhood learning about life from the dead. But for Bod there is also the danger of the murderer still looking for him – after all, he is the last remaining member of the family. A stunningly original novel deftly constructed over eight chapters, featuring every second year of Bod’s life, from babyhood to adolescence. Will Bod survive to be a man?
Review

I’ve only ever read one book by Neil Gaiman before, Coraline, and I enjoyed it enough to want to read more but somehow never got around to it, despite loving the film Stardust and wanting to read the book. I did start listening to The Graveyard Book on Neil Gaiman’s website once, but I have low concentration for audiobooks and the sound wasn’t too good (possibly because of the recording quality, possibly because my old laptop didn’t have the greatest speakers). All in all the graveyard book has been on my wishlist for about five years.
I do kind of wish I had read The Graveyard Book when I was younger, when I read Coraline I found parts were actually scary, and I may have found this the same if I read it when I was younger, some parts were creepy but not actually scary. The atmosphere was built really well, you get an amazing sense of what the graveyard was like, both for someone who was comfortable there, and for someone who was not. I must admit that I didn’t like the action parts as much as the rest, Neil Gaiman builds atmosphere really well but the action seemed a little rushed and not especially exciting, in parts it was even a little predictable. I did enjoy it in all, and will probably look out for more Neil Gaiman in the future, but maybe I will try his adult novels next time.
4/5
16 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction review, YA

16 responses to “The Graveyard Book- Neil Gaiman

  1. Pingback: The Take a Chance Challenge 2011 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  2. Hi, I am here from the Hop. Great review! I have heard so much about this book, but I think I might like to try one of his adult books instead.

  3. Pingback: The Quoting Project: 91 «

  4. Lucybird

    Thanks for stopping by. The book is worth reading but maybe a little young

  5. Pingback: Coraline by Neil Gaiman » The Lonely Book-Club

  6. I haven’t read this yet, but I can recommend Stardust or Neverwhere as great reads of his, I really enjoyed both of them.

  7. Lucybird

    I do have Stardust on my wishlist, although I am a bit worried because I love the film and I tend to prefer the films when I see them first

  8. Pingback: Book Review: “The Graveyard Book” | The Cheap Reader

  9. Pingback: Review of the Year 2011- Challenges | Lucybird's Book Blog

  10. I actually haven’t read Coraline, but I loved The Graveyard Book. Is Coraline as good as The Graveyard Book? Or better? 🙂 Great review, btw.

  11. Lucybird

    As far as I remember I preferred The Graveyard Book, although it was at least 10 years ago that I read Coraline (gosh I can’t believe it’s been that long!)

  12. Anonymous

    What do you think are the 3 greatest challenges Bod faces while growing up in the graveyard?

  13. Well I suppose that he can’t be seen by ‘people’ easily. Makes it difficult for him to interact with living people. And he can’t exactly bring people home!

    What else? Well he’s only really safe when he’s in the graveyard, so that he can’t leave- and get to know the ‘real’ world

    And maybe just the knowledge that someone is after him.

  14. Pingback: Literary Giveaway Hop 9-13th February | Lucybird's Book Blog

  15. Red

    What do you consider to be the thing that Bod enjoys most about growing up in a graveyard?

  16. This sounds like a homework question to me, but I will give you the benefit of the doubt and say, the ghosts.

Leave a Reply

