Magyk- Angie Sage

Magyk

Image via Wikipedia

This book is the first in the Septimus Heap series

Synopsis (from Amazon)

A baby girl is rescued from a snowy path in the woods. A baby boy is stillborn. A young Queen is taken ill. An ExtraOrdinary Wizard mysteriously resigns from his post. And all on the same night. A string of events, seemingly unconnected, begins to converge ten years later, when the Heap family receive a knock at the door. The evil Necromancer DomDaniel is plotting his comeback and a Major Obstacle resides in the Heap family. Life as they know is about to change, and the most fantastically fast-paced adventure of confused identities, magyk and mayhem, begin.

Review

I was given this book by a fellow Harry Potter fan who described it as the new series he was addicted too. It’s taken me a while to get round to actually reading it, partly because despite some of my favourite books being fantasy I’m not a big reader of fantasy as a whole, and partly because I didn’t want to compare Magyk to Harry Potter, because I knew it would be pretty hard to meet up. Luckily to compare the two would be quite difficult, apart from tragic beginnings, and similar aged main characters the two have very little in common. Plot wise there were some pretty good ideas going on but, partly because of the way Magyk was written I did find it very predictable, the main twist is given away because of some bad decision making- which may be on part of the publishers rather than Sage herself. I must admit a fair bit of the plot didn’ seem particully original either, partly because I think Sage had used myths to do with magic- which is probably a good thing, and partly because it was predictable. There were some really good ideas though, I particully liked the dragon ring and it’s surrounding storyline. I will read the rest in ther series, because I dislike leaving a series unfinished but I wouldn’t activelly seek them out.

3/5

9 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction review, YA

9 responses to “Magyk- Angie Sage

  1. how many books are there in this series?

  2. Ann

    Thanks for the review. I stopped by from the hop.
    Ann

  3. Lucybird

    hia. There are 5 books so far with the 6th to be released soon 🙂

  4. Hopping by from the blog hop.

    I read this book not long after it was published and have the second book too. I did enjoy them and if we had children they would make a lovely series – the hardback editions look great! There was a kind of Harry Potter feel to the books and something that felt kind of false in the writing, but I did enjoy the book and would probably rate it a 3/5.

  5. Lucybird

    I get what you mean about the writing feeling false, I think plot wise the books was pretty good but the writing wasn’t the greatest. Thanks for hopping by 🙂

  6. Pingback: Physik- Angie Sage | Lucybird's Book Blog

  7. Pingback: Queste- Angie Sage | Lucybird's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: Syren- Angie Sage | Lucybird's Book Blog

  9. Pingback: Darke- Angie Sage | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

