Something Rotten- Jasper Fforde

Something Rotten

Image via Wikipedia

Something Rotten is the fourth book in Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next series.

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Thursday Next, Head of JurisFiction and ex-SpecOps agent, returns to her native Swindon accompanied by a child of two, a pair of dodos and Hamlet, who is on a fact-finding mission in the real world. Thursday has been despatched to capture escaped Fictioneer Yorrick Kaine but even so, now seems as good a time as any to retrieve her husband Landen from his state of eradication at the hands of the Chronoguard.

It’s not going to be easy. Thursday’s former colleagues at the department of Literary Detectives want her to investigate a spate of cloned Shakespeares, the Goliath Corporation are planning to switch to a new Faith based corporate management system and the Neanderthals feel she might be the Chosen One who will lead them to genetic self-determination.

With help from Hamlet, her uncle and time-travelling father, Thursday faces the toughest adventure of her career. Where is the missing President-for-life George Formby? Why is it imperative for the Swindon Mallets to win the World Croquet League final? And why is it so difficult to find reliable childcare?

Review

I seem to forget just how much I love Thursday Next between reading one book and the other, this one was no exception. Funny, exciting, and rather odd. I love Thursday and I liked the addition of some of the new characters. How you can get so much humour from a baby I don’t know but I loved Friday, and I really liked Alan too…although I did miss Pickick’s ‘tricks’ a bit. I loved all the fiction related references and jokes, as always. I don’t think there is really anything specific I want to say about this one. Or at least not that I could say without spoilers. I think it has been my favourite Thursday Next so far though, I just wish I hadn’t waited so long to read it.

4.5/5

5 Comments

Filed under Crime, Fantasy, Fiction review, Sci-Fi

5 responses to “Something Rotten- Jasper Fforde

  1. I think the Thursday Next series is one of the funniest, most inventive series ever. Something Rotten is my favorite out of all the ones I’ve read so far. His Nursery Crime series is great too, and I’ve heard only good things about Shades of Grey, which is high up on my to-read list.

  2. Lucybird

    I’ve read a couple of the nursery crimes and enjoyed them, but I do prefer Thursday Next

  3. Pingback: Blog hop | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Great Literary Women | Lucybird's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: First Among Sequels- Jasper Fforde | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

