Shades of Grey- Jasper Fforde

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Hundreds of years in the future, after the Something that Happened, the world is an alarmingly different place. Life is lived according to The Rulebook and social hierarchy is determined by your perception of colour.

Eddie Russett is an above average Red who dreams of moving up the ladder by marriage to Constance Oxblood. Until he is sent to the Outer Fringes where he meets Jane – a lowly Grey with an uncontrollable temper and a desire to see him killed.

For Eddie, it’s love at first sight. But his infatuation will lead him to discover that all is not as it seems in a world where everything that looks black and white is really shades of grey . . .

If George Orwell had tripped over a paint pot or Douglas Adams favoured colour swatches instead of towels . . . neither of them would have come up with anything as eccentrically brilliant as Shades of Grey.

Review

I will happily call myself a Jasper Fforde fan. I love the Thursday Next series and really like the nursery crimes series, when I heard Fforde had a new series coming out I was really excited but managed to hold myself off from actually buying it until it came out in paperback.I had heard that Shades of Grey was different from anything else by Jasper Fforde so was a little concerned that I might not like it. Initially I did find things a little confusing, probably because the world that Shades of Grey is set it is so similar but so different from our own, but after a while I began to understand a little more and as the story got going I began to get gripped by it, finding it difficult to put down.I would still say I prefer the Thursday Next novels because they’re a bit easier to get your head around but there are also things that I prefered about Shades of Grey. Overall I found the character’s more engaging. I especially liked Jane- she was so strong and didn’t care about what others thought of her so long as she was doing what she thought was right. I think she could quite easily be seen as a bit of a feminist icon. I liked Violet too because she was so beautifully horrible and manipulative, in some ways she was quite similar to Jane but she directed that energy in different ways. It was more serious than Thursday Next to in that it looked at issues we have in our world but from a different angle, I liked that because I like books that make you think, but it still had the familiar Jasper Fforde humour so wasn’t depressing,

I can’t wait for the next in the series.

5/5



9 Comments

Filed under Dystopian, Fantasy, Fiction review, Sci-Fi

9 responses to “Shades of Grey- Jasper Fforde

  1. This is on my TBR list. It sounds so good. Don’t you love it when you find a new author that you connect with? Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  2. Lucybird

    Oh yes I do! Sometimes I feel I should read more new authors because of all the great things I could be missing out on, but the old favourites are so tempting!

  3. Pingback: An evening with Jasper Fforde | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Armchair BEA: Best reads of 2011 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Review of the Year 2011- Best fiction | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Recommend the Most | Lucybird's Book Blog

  7. Pingback: Literary Giveaway Hop 8-12th February | Lucybird's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: Literary Blog Hop: Winner | Lucybird's Book Blog

  9. Pingback: Top 10 Tuesday: Books to Sink Into | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

