One Day- David Nicholls

Cover

Image via Wikipedia

Synopsis (from Amazon)

‘I can imagine you at forty,’ she said, a hint of malice in her voice. ‘I can picture it right now.’
He smiled without opening his eyes. ‘Go on then.’

15th July 1988. Emma and Dexter meet for the first time on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways.

So where will they be on this one day next year?

And the year after that? And every year that follows?

Twenty years, two people, ONE DAY. From the author of the massive bestseller STARTER FOR TEN.

Review

Ok here goes. I know lots of people love this book, I’m read so many fantastic reviews, and maybe I’m missing something but I was less than impressed. I wasn’t expecting One Day to be so chick-litty, I have nothing against chick-lit as such but I rarely read it and when I do it’s because I want an easy, lazy read, and that means I have to know it’s chick-lit first. I found it somewhat predictable, to the point that I was getting frustrated at the length of time it took for the inevitable to happen (highlight for spoiler)and of course it did happen, eventually. I suppose it was romantic in a way, the idea of fate, but it’s nothing new.

I didn’t like the characters either. I thought that Dexter was a bit of an idiot honestly, and so self-centred. He took advantage of Emma and I didn’t think he was good enough for her. Emma I found kind of smug, not exactly self-assured but at the same time rather self-satisfied, despite her criticisms of herself. Emma did at least grow on me though (highlight for spoiler) however I wasn’t sad so much as shocked when she had died.

I did find the end quite good, and realistic. (highlight for spoiler) I thought the emotion of loss was done much better than that of love. I could imagine myself reacting in similar ways to Dexter. The ending really saved this story, and actually I would have liked more of it.

2.5/5

And if you’re asking what I think you may be the answer is yes 😉

12 Comments

Filed under Chicklit, Fiction review

12 responses to “One Day- David Nicholls

  1. Pingback: One Day – David Nicholls – Farm Lane Books Blog

  2. LOL! I guessed this was the book you were talking about yesterday and nearly mentioned it. I have just reviewed this one too. I knew it would be quite chick litty so read it at the appropriate time, but I can see why you’d be frustrated by that element. There were times I wanted to slap both the characters, but overall this book was very entertaining and so I enjoyed reading it.

  3. I’m hopping by via the Blog Hop. I couldn’t find your post, so I’m commenting here.

    My Hop:

    http://curlupandread.wordpress.com/2011/01/07/book-blogger-hop-jan-7-jan-10/

  4. I’ve been reading through a string of “raved” books that have disappointed me in one way or another. It happens. We can’t all like everything. Stopping by from the Hop. Happy Reading!

  5. lucybirdbooks

    Thanks for stopping by. It’s good to hear that someone else if less than impressed by hyped books!

  6. lucybirdbooks

    Hia 🙂

    I haven’t done a blog hop post this week. I was in a hurry when I added myself to the list so I didn’t bother with an official post. Thanks for dropping by.

  7. Anonymous

    saya suka dgn ini

  8. Pingback: Book Review: One Day by David Nicholls « Leeswammes' Blog

  9. Pingback: Review of th Year 2011- Disappointing Fiction | Lucybird's Book Blog

  10. Pingback: 27 (Twenty- Seven): Six Friends, One Year- R.J. Heald | Lucybird's Book Blog

  11. Pingback: Top 10 Indie | Lucybird's Book Blog

  12. Pingback: Film of the Book: One Day | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

