Things I want my Daughters to Know- Elizabeth Noble

This review was written on 12/08/10. It is the last of my back-dated reviews.

Synopsis (from Amazon)

‘My beautiful girls. If you’ve read this, you’ll know it contains some – not all, but some – of the things I want my daughters to know. And the greatest of these is love …’ How would you say goodbye to those you love most in the world? Barbara must say a final farewell to her four daughters. But how can she find the words? And how can she leave them when they each have so much growing up to do? There’s commitment-phobic Lisa. Brittle, unhappily married Jennifer. Free-spirited traveller Amanda. And teenage Hannah, stumbling her way towards adulthood. Barbara’s answer is to write each daughter a letter, finally expressing the hopes, fears, dreams and secrets she couldn’t always voice. These words will touch the girls in different – sometimes shocking – ways, unlocking emotions and passions to set them on their own journey of discovery through life.

Review

Hmm main thing which struck me about this book was it was more chick-litty than I expected, pretty good chick-lit but still more than I was expecting. I have nothing against chick-lit but I only usually pick it up if I’m after an easy read, I enjoyed it enough but if I realised how chick-litty it was I don’t think I would have been looking forward too it so much. It also didn’t have as much actual grief narrative as I was expecting- in a way it was just an added dimension, all the other problems were seperate really the only way it was connected was in how the daughters couldn’t speak to their mother which was a bit of an over used comment- why didn’t they talk to her about any of their problems when she was alive- they would have surely if they suddenly wanted too? It just seemed to be put in to link back really- to stop topic straying too much.
Overall an enjoyable enough read but don’t expect it to be anything great

3/5

3 Comments

Filed under Chicklit, Fiction review

3 responses to “Things I want my Daughters to Know- Elizabeth Noble

  1. I would also pick up chick-lit when I want an easy read. Am more into asian authors currently. Have you tried Vikas swarup? better known for his book “Slumdog millionaire”. But I love his “Six Suspects” the most

  2. lucybirdbooks

    Yes I’ve read Slumdog Millionaire and enjoyed it, although I haven’t read anything else by him.

  3. Pingback: Hoppity hoppity | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

