Norwegian Wood- Haruki Murakami

Norwegian Wood (novel)

Image via Wikipedia

This review was written 27/07/09

Synopsis(from Amazon)

When he hears her favourite Beatles song, Toru Watanabe recalls his first love Naoko, the girlfriend of his best friend Kizuki. Immediately he is transported back almost twenty years to his student days in Tokyo, adrift in a world of uneasy friendships, casual sex, passion, loss and desire – to a time when an impetuous young woman called Midori marches into his life and he has to choose between the future and the past.When he hears her favourite Beatles song, Toru Watanabe recalls his first love Naoko, the girlfriend of his best friend Kizuki. Immediately he is transported back almost twenty years to his student days in Tokyo, adrift in a world of uneasy friendships, casual sex, passion, loss and desire – to a time when an impetuous young woman called Midori marches into his life and he has to choose between the future and the past.

Review

You know what I’m really bad at writing good reviews…what do you think that say about me?!
Anyway I thought this book was beautiful. It wasn’t what I expected really, I expected more of a classic love story I suppose…but this wasn’t that. I much prefered Midori to Naoko. There was something kind of sweet about Naoko but I found her, I’m not sure if boring is the word but she certainly didn’t bring the same kind of excitement as Midori. I am probably more like Midori…but a bit more conventional! (highlight for spoiler)In fact I prefered reading about her illness than actually reading about her, whereas with Midori I was always looking forward to what she might say next. I was glad when Watanabe realised that he really loved her.

I didn’t expect there to be as much graphical sex descriptions in it either. It didn’t put me off but I can imagine it might for some people

4.5/5

11 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review

11 responses to “Norwegian Wood- Haruki Murakami

  1. I understand the feeling: sometimes it’s easier to put into words what you didn’t like about the book rather than express what you truly loved about it.

  2. oh no…now i regret didnt buy this book when i had the chance. It was RM8(USD3).

    I bought one of her other book…willow something

  3. lucybirdbooks

    It’s not the best of the one’s I’ve read anyway. I’m reading Kafka on the Shore now and think it’s my favourite so far

  4. lucybirdbooks

    I’m glad I’m not the only one 🙂

  5. Pingback: Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Norwegian Wood (No, not the song by Beatles, but the book by Murakami) « Bibliojunkie

  7. Pingback: The Piano Tuner- Daniel Mason | Lucybird's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: Sputnik Sweetheart- Haruki Murakami | Lucybird's Book Blog

  9. Pingback: The Thief- Fuminori Nakamura | Lucybird's Book Blog

  10. Pingback: Literary Giveaway Hop 9-13th February | Lucybird's Book Blog

  11. Pingback: Literary Giveaway Hop 8-12th February | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

