Film of the book: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (part 1)

This review contains spoilers for the Harry Potter books and films.

I’ve been really books excited about this film. It’s strange because I don’t usually really like the Harry Potter films. I love the books so much that I am disappointed by the films. I hate it when they miss anything out, or change anything. The dementors have always been a real irritation for me, they are so different in the films, dementors don’t fly! Unfortunately they still annoyed me in this film, not only by flying but also because they seemed to be able to administer the kis by just being there, but hey it’s minor really isn’t it? They’re not such a big thing in this film as in Prisoner of Azkaban so I could leave it alone really.

I did actually like this film quite a lot, certainly better than the other films so far. I wasn’t sure how they would keep it going as a lot of the time the trio were basically just camping. I think it was done quite well. They kept in important parts but still managed to show the progression of time. There were a few points I was really impressed by. I think Hermione wiping her parents memories was done really well, you could really see her sadness and her determination, it seemed more like an aside in the book. I really liked Dobby, he was like the best bit of the film, so awesome.

I do think the person sitting next to me knew Harry Potter just from the films. I thought it was quite coherent but she kept asking her friend questions, so I think again knowing the book is advantageous to seeing the film. I suppose it’s a good thing in a way because it may encourage people to read the books too, and I always advocate that.

There were a few little things that got to me. I wished the memorial to the Potter’s was still there, it was a really moving part of the book, made me cry a little. I had really liked Potterwatch in the book and was sad to see that cut, maybe it’s not an important thing but it was really the trio’s link to the rest of the wizarding world. Also the taboo put on Voldemort’s name wasn’t mentioned which I think could be kind of important. I find it easier now to accept changes, and I try not to look for them, but I can’t help but notice. I think the changes in this were pretty minor but they still bother me a little.

Overall this I think has been the best film so far, but not a patch on the book.

9 Comments

Filed under Film review

9 responses to “Film of the book: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (part 1)

  1. Totally agree with your review. I think this movie was my favourite out of them all because due to the split they were able to remain more faithful to the books than in the previous movies (not including maybe the first two).
    They definitely didn’t explain certain things in the movie very well for non-Potter readers. The mirror for example, would have been very confusing to someone who has never read the books.
    And I totally forgot that they left out Potterwatch! Aw, that was one of my favourite parts of the book. Also, I was bummed that Harry never took back Mad-Eye Moody’s eye from Umbridge’s door! What was the point of showing it there if they were just going to leave it behind? Mad-Eye deserves better…

  2. lucybirdbooks

    Oh yeah I think it would have been good to have that bit too, and it isn’t as if it would have taken up tons of time. I was trying to work out if he did take it and it just wasn’t clear, I couldn’t see it behind him when he came out the door but it was too small to tell really.

  3. Well, I thought I saw the eye following him as he walked past the door as he left. Perhaps I was seeing things though.

  4. lucybirdbooks

    Or I wasn’t seeing things

  5. Pingback: The popularity contest | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: It’s Friiiiiiiday! | Lucybird's Book Blog

  7. Pingback: Film of the Book: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (part 2) | Lucybird's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: Top 10 best and worst film adaptations | Lucybird's Book Blog

  9. Pingback: Film of the Book: Mockingjay (Part 1) | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

