The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society- Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Image by Timothy Valentine via Flickr

This review was written 13/06/09

Synopsis(from Amazon)

It’s 1946 and author Juliet Ashton can’t think what to write next. Out of the blue, she receives a letter from Dawsey Adams of Guernsey – by chance, he’s acquired a book that once belonged to her – and, spurred on by their mutual love of reading, they begin a correspondence. When Dawsey reveals that he is a member of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, her curiosity is piqued and it’s not long before she begins to hear from other members. As letters fly back and forth with stories of life in Guernsey under the German Occupation, Juliet soon realizes that the society is every bit as extraordinary as its name.

Review

Hmm what to say. This book wasn’t what I expected, I expected it to be more about the war but that was only part of the plot. I did enjoy it but I expected to enjoy it more. I don’t really have anything of great interest to say about it… I don’t really like it when books are written in letters as this one was, but when it comes to that style this was a good one. I became more attached than I usually do to the characters, although even at the end I was a bit confused as to who was who.

(highlight for spoiler) I could really imagine how Juliet’s friends felt about her love life though, and that was one of my favourite elements

3/5

7 Comments

Filed under Fiction review, Historical

7 responses to “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society- Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

  1. I’m not normally a fan of books written in letter form, but I listened to this one and loved it. All the characters were read by different actors and so I found it very easy to tell who was who. I don’t think I’d have enjoyed it in print form so I understand your problems with it.

  2. lucybirdbooks

    I can imagine that it may be easier in audio format, although my mind tends to drift when listening to audio books

  3. I enjoyed your discussion of “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.”

    I wonder if you would like to look at my book, “War on the Margins.” It’s about the Island of Jersey during the German occupation (Yes, I inadvertently wrote the “prequel” to the Guernsey book). The Surrealist artists Claude Cahun and Marcel Moore were Resistance propagandists on the Island, and figure prominently in the book. “War on the Margins” started life as a self-published work and was then picked up by a publisher after being championed by UK bloggers. The UK paperback has just been released, and a US Kindle version is also available. Please let me know if you are interested in receiving a paperback copy for review.

  4. Pingback: It’s time for another hop. « Lucybird's Book Blog

  5. I am sorry that you did not like this book. I loved it. Here is a link to my review:

    http://bookscount.webs.com/apps/blog/show/4586877-the-guernsey-literary-and-potato-peel-pie-society

  6. I really liked this book. I became quite engaged with the characters and I now recommend this book to everyone. Thank you for your review!

  7. lucybirdbooks

    I think I’m one of the few people who didn’t love it. I think mainly because I don’t tend to like books written in letters.

Leave a Reply

