Emotional Geology- Linda Gillard

This review was written 13/6/09


Synopsis
(from Amazon)

Rose Leonard is on the run from her life. Taking refuge in a remote island community, she cocoons herself in work, silence and solitude in a house by the sea. But she is haunted by her past, by memories and desires she’d hoped were long dead. Rose must decide whether she has in fact chosen a new life or just a different kind of death. Life and love are offered by new friends, her lonely daughter, and most of all Calum, a fragile younger man who has his own demons to exorcise. But does Rose, with her tenuous hold on life and sanity, have the courage to say yes to life and put her past behind her?

Review

I finished this last week (or was it early this week? I can’t remember) so my thoughts may be a little hazy but I will try my best!
It took me a while to get into, I wasn’t too comfortable with the writing style because I thought it didn’t flow very well, it seems sort of like bullet points. Thinking about it that probably made it realistic, and more like we were hearing Rose think than her talking to us. I guess it’s probably a good stylistic decision but it did make it harder to get into the book. After a while the style ceased to matter really, as I got more into the story I noticed it less and less. I really liked Rose, and loved Callum and I was sad to see them go by the end.
I also really liked the descriptions of the island. It made me want to be in a rugged landscape or by the sea (or both!). I tend to prefer that to the more polished country-side that is nearest to Birmingham.
Not the best book I have read this year but certainly worth reading

3.5/5

6 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review

6 responses to “Emotional Geology- Linda Gillard

  1. Pingback: It’s time for another hop. « Lucybird's Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Saturday Review of Books: November 27, 2010 | Semicolon

  3. Pingback: Blog Hop | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. Pingback: House of Silence- Linda Gillard | Lucybird's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Ninepins- Rosy Thornton | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Indie | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

