The Perks of Being a Wallflower- Stephen Chbosky

Synopsis

Charlie is a freshman. And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But Charlie can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.

Review.

I really really liked this. It’s been compared to Catcher in the Rye and I can see why, it has a similar tone and both have a teenage boy speaking. However I didn’t feel like I related to Holden whereas Charlie reminded me quite a lot of myself in high school (but more so). Of course me going to an all girls school made me even more innocent than him… I related quite well to him. I suppose mainly it was his thing of not getting involved, just watching that felt like me, I had my friends but I was a bit of a loner. I liked the characters a lot too. I think probably Sam was my favourite, I can imagine being friends with Sam. She seemed to be the one who cared most for Charlie too and actually the one who was trying to help her. I liked Bill too, he was like the perfect teacher. One who actually cared for his pupils and wanted to get the best out of them rather than just getting them through the exams.

It’s a very quick and easy read but really has some substance, it doesn’t really loose anything for it. I suppose I would change something and that would be to see a bit more about how the surprise revelation affected him, but having said something in a way everything we had read showed that.

5/5

My sidebar tells me that there is going to be a film of The Perk of Being a Wallflower, written by Chbosky himself. Seeing as he is writing it I think it could be really good. Apparently Emma Watson and Logan Lerman will be in it. Lerman looks pretty close to how I imagined Charlie, maybe a little more pretty boy but Watson isn’t how I imagine any of the female characters, maybe she could be Charlie’s sister but I certainly cannot see her as Sam.

Related Articles

7 Comments

Filed under Fiction review, YA

7 responses to “The Perks of Being a Wallflower- Stephen Chbosky

  1. I’ve been increasingly drawn to ‘coming-of-age’ novels and this one sounds like a real treat. It reminds me of ‘Crazy’ by Benjamin Lebert who pretty much learns to open up and become one of the lads after being sent to a boarding school.

    If it’s coming out in film, I must read it quick-quick!

  2. lucybirdbooks

    It only took me 2 days to read, usually a book takes me about a week so it shouldn’t be too hard to read quickly. And you should read it!

    I shall look up ‘Crazy’, maybe it could tied me over until I find ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ (and I will find it)

  3. I started this months ago and then got completely off track and haven’t had time to get back to it. Sounds like I need to find the time!

  4. lucybirdbooks

    Oh do! It won’t take you long 🙂

  5. Pingback: Crazy- Benjamin Lebert | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Film of the Book: The Perks of Being a Wallflower | Lucybird's Book Blog

  7. Pingback: Literary Giveaway Hop 9-13th February | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

