Alice in Wonderland- Lewis Carroll

Synopsis (from Amazon)

When Alice tumbles down a rabbit hole one hot summer’s afternoon in pursuit of a White Rabbit, she finds herself in Wonderland. And here begin the fantastical adventures that will see her experiencing extraordinary changes in size, swimming in a pool of her own tears and attending the very maddest of tea parties.

Review

My Mum read this to me first time when I was little, and I was really surprised by how much I remembered. I’ve seen the Disney film a million times but I still managed to remember some bits that weren’t in it, my favourite being the Duchess which I remembered fondly anyway. I enjoyed it a lot this time round too, even though there was a page missing (it was the same copy, and used to belong to my Nanna). I don’t remember the ending being so disappointing though. I knew that [highlight for spoiler]she woke up and it was all a dream. But then it went into some stupid thing being all nostelgic about childhood which doesn’t have much point in what is meant to be a children’s book.

Still worth a read. I’m not sure whether to read Through the Looking Glass or not.

4/5

5 Comments

Filed under Classics, Fiction review, YA

5 responses to “Alice in Wonderland- Lewis Carroll

  1. In my opinion, this is the best one out of the ‘Alice’ books. How lovely that you still have your grandmother’s copy. But by all means read ‘Through the Looking Glass’. I mean, it’s random fun stuff. We all need random fun stuff, and there’s a good bit about chess and the red and white queens.

  2. lucybirdbooks

    I may well do that. The copy I have has both stories so it’s not as if it would be difficult!

  3. I got to see Melanie Benjamin last weekend, who wrote “Alice I Have Been” about Alice Lidell who was Lewis Carroll’s inspiration for Alice. But I have yet to read the book–you’ve really made me want to pick it up!

  4. lucybirdbooks

    I hadn’t heard of that book, I would be interested to read it.

  5. Pingback: Bookish Gifts | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

