The Bell Jar- Sylvia Plath

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Esther Greenwood is at college and is fighting two battles, one against her own desire for perfection in all things – grades, boyfriend, looks, career – and the other against remorseless mental illness. As her depression deepens she finds herself encased in it, bell-jarred away from the rest of the world. This is the story of her journey back into reality. Highly readable, witty and disturbing, The Bell Jar is Sylvia Plath’s only novel and was originally published under a pseudonym in 1963. What it has to say about what women expect of themselves, and what society expects of women, is as sharply relevant today as it has always been.

Review.

This book was really beautifully written, almost poetic. I felt I could really see into Esther’s mind, or almost like I was her. It was really clever in that I didn’t really feel sympathetic for her because she was so matter of fact about it, it was like I didn’t feel I should give her sympathy [highlight for spoiler]I almost even wanted her to succeed in her suicide attempts because she seemed to want it so much, but I wanted her to get ‘better’ more. I found some parts fascinating [highlight for spoiler]especially the bits with the ECT but they were also quite hard to read. I liked how the story was open ended and that the reader could almost pick what happened in the end.

4.5/5

4 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review, Psychology (fiction)

4 responses to “The Bell Jar- Sylvia Plath

  1. Hey! I’m hoping back from your link on my blog! I loved The Bell Jar. It was haunting. I’m definitely going to need to read it again and soon! Thanks for the review and the visit!

  2. This is one of my all time favorite books!

  3. Everyone who is reading this for the challenge really seems to be enjoying it. I wish I could find my copy to re-read!

  4. lucybirdbooks

    I felt similar about To Kill a Mockingbird. I wanted to re-read it but can’t find my copy anywhere (I even cleared out my shelves in my search!)

Leave a Reply

