December- Elizabeth H. Winthrop

Synopsis (from Amazon)

Eleven-year-old Isabelle hasn’t spoken in nine months, and as December begins the situation is getting desperate. Her mother has stopped work to devote herself to her daughter’s care. Four psychiatrists have already given up on her, and her school will not take her back in the New Year. Her parents are frantically trying to understand what has happened so they can help their child, but they cannot escape the thought of darker possibilities. What if Isabelle is damaged beyond their reach? Will she never speak again? Is it their fault? As they spiral around Isabelle’s impenetrable silence, she herself emerges as a bright young girl in need of help yet too terrified to ask for it.

Review

This book has been sitting on my shelf for a while. I just didn’t feel compeled to read it for some reason. I’m not sure why, it sounded interesting enough.

In the end it reminded me quite a bit of Jodi Picoult books, a similar style. In a way this was good because well I like Jodi Picoult books, but at the same time it made it seem unoriginal. All the same I enjoyed it, in particular I liked Isabelle, and the psychologist in me was really interested in why she wasn’t speaking.

Highlight below for spoiler

In fact the psychologist in me didn’t like that we never found out for sure. I guessed and I think as a reader I was meant to guess but I would have liked to know if my suspicions were right

3.5/5

4 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review

4 responses to “December- Elizabeth H. Winthrop

  1. inver

    I quite enjoyed this one too Lucy, although I think the ending could have been a bit better, but can’t quite put my finger on what/how though.

  2. lucybirdbooks

    I think it’s that we never really found out why it happened, so the cause didn’t really get fixed (I thought it might be because of the parents arguing but is that even really solved?)

  3. Pingback: Review of the Year 2009 (Part 1) « Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Looking back: First Review | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

