Dracula- Bram Stoker


This book was read as part of The To Be Read Pile Challenge, and The Rory List

Synopsis (from amazon)

Bram Stoker’s Dracula introduces one of literature’s most famous characters, as the terrifying Count wreaks havoc on the band of hunters intent on stopping him.

Review

When I posted my list for the To Be Read Pile Challenge a lot of people said that Dracula was a great choice, so I decided to read it as my first book for the challenge.

A lot of my TBR pile books are classics, mainly because I find that reading classics tends to take more stamina than more contemporary novels. Dracula was no different really. It was probably easier than some of the other classics however.

I like gothic novels so I loved the gothic elements in Dracula, although I did expect a bit more of that. I also enjoyed the hunt as the ‘team’ tried to track down, isolate, and destroy Dracula. It had a decent portion of action but also had some thoughtfulness which was more interesting to read. I imagine when vampire folklore was less well known these portions of the novel would have seemed smarter and have much more of a climax. Nowadays vampires are pretty ingrained in popular culture so things aren’t as much of a surprise.

There was a little bit of a feminist element which I hadn’t expected. Mina is undoubtedly a clever and strong woman. She is often seen as just a woman, until she does something that is seen as remarkable, and even then the effects of that only last for a a little while

3/5

Buy it:
Kindle (free)
Paperback (£8.77)

Other Reviews:

Have I missed your review? Leave me a link in comments and I will add it here
6 Comments

Filed under Classics, Fiction review

6 responses to “Dracula- Bram Stoker

  1. I’m thinking of adding this to my Classics Club list based on all the reviews I have read recently. I’ve never really planned on reading it but actually I’m intrigued now. Particularly if there is a slight feminist element!

  2. I enjoyed Dracula a lot when I listened to it a few years ago–much more than I expected because I’m not much into horror as a genre and vampires are so rampant in books and movies these days that I was tired of them.

    However, I loved the format, with the letters, newspaper articles and other citations that made it seem real and relevant.

    I think Mina is a wonderful character–my favorite in the book by far!

  3. Pingback: 2014 TBR Pile Challenge | Lucybird's Book Blog

  4. Great review! I enjoyed Dracula because it didn’t require as much concentration to read. I was also surprised about Mina and wonder why she doesn’t make it to lists of great female heroines. What surprised me the most was how Dracula has so much presence in the beginning of the book and then pretty much disappears.

  5. Pingback: Sunday Surfing 9/2/14 | Lucybird's Book Blog

  6. Yes, she does seem to be rather overlooked even by readers doesn’t she? And (at least in terms of classics) Dracula is fairly easy to read.

Leave a Reply

