Children’s Hour: Titch

Sorry this post is a little late this week, didn’t have a chance to  prepare it in advance.

Children’s Hour is a new feature here at Lucybird’s Book Blog every Thursday where I’m looking at children’s picture books. As I work in a nursery I get plenty of opportunities to look at picture books, and to see what the kids think of them so it really makes sense to use those experiences.

I’d love to hear everybody’s experiences of the books I review too, and feel free to post me a link to your own reviews, I’d love to make this a bit interactive.

The image (if you were wondering) is taken from Shirley’s Hughes’ Alfie and Annie-Rose books which I loved as a child.

Image from Amazon

 

Titch is another story I know from childhood and now read to the kids at work. It’s a pretty simple story. Titch is the youngest child with a big sist

er and a big brother. Titch all was gets left out, when Pete has a big saw, and Mary has a big hammer, Titch gets to hold the nails. When Pete has a big drum, and Mary has a trumpet, Titch gets a tin whistle. When Pete has a kite that flies high above the trees, and Mary has a kite that flies high above the houses Titch gets a little pinwheel that he holds in his hand. But then when Pete has a big spade

and Mary has a big flower pot guess what Titch has… the tiny seed, and you must know what happens to Titch’s seed. I love the pictures in this book, everything is so big until you get to Titch who is…titchy. I like the message of the story too. The idea that kids will grow and they won’t be little anymore, it’s probably nice for youngest children to read about some

one like them too. Plus there’s lots of talk about size which is pretty educational. It’s good to see if the kids know what will happen to the seed as well and to talk about the different things and which ones they would like.

There are actually a whole series of  Titch books, I possibly came across You’ll Soon Grow Into Them, Titch as a child, I recognise the picture, but I don’t remember the story. There is also a children’s program based on Titch but I can’t say I’ve ever seen it or heard about it.

Buy Titch:

Paperback (£4.49)

4 Comments

Filed under Children's Hour, Fiction review, Picture books

4 responses to “Children’s Hour: Titch

  1. Pingback: Help Kids Who Are Anxious About Moving and Keep Learning Alive During the Summer « Positive Parental Participation

  2. I remember this book from my childhood! So cool to see it on your blog :)

  3. I loved it when I was little (still do as a matter of fact!). It’s great that the kids still love it.

  4. Pingback: Children’s Hour Blogiversary Giveaway | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

