Happy World Book Night

Hi everyone! Happy World Book Night! Oh what a great day when we can celebrate books!

I always loved the sound of World Book Night, even before knowing anything about it! I brings to mind secret meetings to share a great love of books. I can imagine candles and cellars, and dark corners as people smuggle books to one another. No idea why but I certainly like the idea, and it’s not terribly far from the truth!

For one thing it is about sharing loved books. The main content of World Book Night is to share books. Every year 25 books are chosen by the public to be shared with the world. Readers can then apply to receive 24 copies of these books which they can give away as they choose- although the idea is to try and giveaway books to those who may not usually read or have access to books.

There’s also the link with Bookcrossing which adds an air of mystery. Bookcrossing is about chronicling a book’s journey and all its readers- it’s something that happens all year round (and which I am involved in). The mystery being that you never know where a book could end up, I have journals entries from books which have traveled all over the world.

Unfortunately I didn’t get in early enough to ask for my copies of books this year- but I hope to next time!

There are some bloggers who are posting about what they are doing however:

Jane @ Booketta’s Book Blog

Cassanadra @ Indie Reader Houston

Lainy @ So Many Books, So Little Time

Sherry @ Semicolon Blog

 

Find Out More:

World Book Night (UK)

World Book Night (US)

Bookcrossing

10 Comments

Filed under Musings, News

10 responses to “Happy World Book Night

  1. booketta

    Thank you for the link :) The weather was dreadful here yesterday, so I only managed to distribute some in a cafe. I will give it a go today as the weather is better.

  2. Pingback: World Book Night with a little help from my son « alenaslife

  3. Lucybird

    Hope it worked out better for you today. The weather her was pretty good this afternoon but awful this evening so I hope you missed the worst of it!

  4. I didn’t get the chance to distribute the books, but, as an author, I told as many people as I could about it. Only problem was, when we looked it up against Gloucestershire (where I live) there were no scheduled distributions. Oops. Better luck next year!

  5. Lucybird

    I couldn’t see any planned events in Birmingham either which made me wish I had done something, ah well there is always next year

  6. It was a shame about the weather, I handed most of mine out at work (which was the plan) but I had wanted to take some down the beach to give to strangers.

  7. Sounds like that’s our plans for next year sorted then! Enjoying your blog, by the way. Nice to meet you.

  8. Lucybird

    Yay nice and early! Thanks, nice to meet you too :)

  9. You too. Have a great weekend.

  10. Pingback: Thursday Flashback — World Book Night « alenaslife

Leave a Reply

