Harvesting the Heart- Jodi Picoult

Image from Amazon


Synopsis

Paige has only a few vivid memories of her mother, who abandoned her when she was five. Now, having left home and her father for dreams of art school and marriage to an ambitious young doctor, Paige finds herself with a child of her own. Emotionally and physically exhausted, overwhelmed by the demands of her family, Paige cannot forget her mother’s absence or the shameful memories from her own past. Her next step would have been unthinkable before her doubts about her maternal ability crept into her mind. Is it possible Paige’s baby would be better off without her?

Review

As far as Jodi Picoult novels go this one was emotionally pretty easy going. It’s not that it’s nice to think of mothers leaving their children but it’s a bit more ever day than most of the issues that Picoult usually writes about.
That’s not to say I didn’t like it, or it didn’t draw me in. I can’t say I felt a particular connection to the characters for the majority of the book. I couldn’t really get my head around Paige and although I didn’t dislike her I didn’t really like her either, but at least that gives her a chance to change my mind! I did feel a little sorry for her in the way she was feeling and for not really having an outlet for those feelings but she seemed kind of stubborn and unwilling to find help, right up to the point where she cracked. By that point I didn’t really feel sympathetic so much anymore because of the way she was dealing with her feelings.
At first I really didn’t like Nicholas, he didn’t seem right for Paige at all and I found him more than a little self-centred. However by the end of the book he managed to change my mind.
This is another of Picoult’s earlier works which has been re-released (something I find frustrating). You can tell it’s one of her earlier books but I still thought it was more engaging than Songs of the Humpback Whale or Picture Perfect (which were also re-releases).

4/5

Buy it:
Kindle (£4.99)
Paperback (£4.49)
Hardback (£10.70)
3 Comments

Filed under Contempory, Fiction review

3 responses to “Harvesting the Heart- Jodi Picoult

  1. Pingback: Crazy Book Tours Virtual Blog Tour & Review: Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult « Books in the Burbs

  2. Pingback: Saturday Review of Books: February 25, 2012 | Semicolon

  3. Pingback: Book Blogger Hop | Lucybird's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

